A staggerin amount of food is wasted every year, both in businesses and households. Why is this happenig ? What can be be done to tackle this problem ?

Food waste is very common nowadays, especially in the Western world. Households just as businesses are throwing a huge amount of food away, despite of the fact that it is still good. Theefore is to wonder what's the reason for that and what can be done about it. In this essay I will provide some causes to his problem and provide some solutions. A major cause to this problem is that our society has the tendency to buy more than they actually need, and this as well counts for food. Most people go into the grocery store and buy way much than there need, ending up throwing half of it away by the end of the month. A way forward would be, to be more strategically about grocery shopping. Writing down a list of the absolute necessities could be a very helpful tool to reduce food waste. A second cause to this problem is that the production of food overweighs the consumer's need for it. Food factories these days have an almost never-ending production rate, despite of the fact that their product is already widespread on the market. This has the consequence that plenty of food ends up in the litter before it even got into the hand of the customer. To tackle this, food companies might need a system that informs them regularly about the demand and stock of their products. As so, they could stop their food production occasionally until the demand rises again. To conclude, food waste is caused by our consum -orientated need to by more than necessary and by the imbalance of demand and supply in food production. In my,Opinion it is major problem and if the Government don't act against it, no improvement will be reached.