In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Technology has impacted everything in our daily life. Among the changes, is the transition of the books, journals, and magazines from merely the store shelves to the online platforms. To what extent will the readers in future pursue the uploaded versions, and abandon the traditional ones in return? It can be argued that, no one will prefer to buy hard copies, while they can have free access on the internet. Personally, I do not agree with this notion. Simply, all publishing entities need the financial support to function, either to pay salaries or create products. Recently, the most prevalent pathway of funding, has been the advertisements. It’s noticed that, the websites rely mostly on the commercials as an income. However, in case the newspapers and books do just exist on the internet channels, I do not think that advertising can be the sole source of profit, since, the aim of any industry is to be profitable. Also, relying on the sponsorship cannot apply to all sorts of visual goods. For example, sponsoring books may hinder the freedom and creativity of writers. Moreover, it would make the content less appealing, and undoubtedly, no one would like to come across some promotions among the pages while reading, hence, more distraction could happen. So, as far as I am concerned, I expect the presence of more extended forms of subscriptions and purchasing systems. On the other hand, I believe that the online content will be the most popular form accepted by readers. This is because of other reasons apart from being free, such as, the convenience, and the ease of obtaining any piece of information by smoothly clicking some buttons. In an epilogue, I reckon that the internet publishing is thriving, however, it is a romantic idea to obtain any service for free.