Some people think that the government is responsible for the rise in childhood obesity, while others think it is the fault of the parents. Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

Over the last century, there has been a significant increase in children that suffer obesity and related health problems. Some people state that this issue comes from the wrong management in health administration sectors from governments, whilst others believe that parents are responsible. In this essay I will explain both points of view and why I consider that parents have the main responsibility. On the one hand, one of government health officers main job is to educate societies in terms of generating healthy habits and promoting good nutrition facts. Furthermore; they are expected to introduce these knowledge in schools and clubs for the young ones, so children can learn from early years the importance of sports and having a healthy diet. For example, every Saturday in Queensland there is a Fun Run for Kids, where the council organises different sport activities and provides healthy snacks for children. Implementing those activities helps to fight against children obesity. On the other hand, parents are the main educators of their children and the ones that organise their diet and sport related activities. Moreover; kids tend to grow up imitating their parents, so it is expected that they will also mimic what they eat and how much sport they do. For example, recent studies from Harvard showed that children with athletic parents are 85% likely to have a healthy life, whilst 60% of children that grow in sedentary environments are expected to suffer from obesity. In conclusion, whilst expert people from governments can promote and help parents to create healthy rutines and meals for their children, I believe that families are the responsibles in making it happen and teaching the young ones why it is important to follow good habits, in order to avoid obesity.