In many countries, people like to eat a wide variety of food that can be grown in other areas. As a result, people eat more food produced in other regions than local food. Do the advantages of this trend outweigh its disadvantages?

Recently, owing to the advantaged technology, purchasing food from different regions seems to be an easy job for the public. As a result, the trend of consuming imported food has been prevailing. As far as I am concerned, this phenomenon may be detrimental to social development as well as living standards. To begin with, there may be a shortage in indigenous food resources. Some people may claim that importing food from other areas can expose citizens to various types of dishes. For example, people from Africa can be encouraged to try sushi from Japan. However, it cannot be ignored that exotic food may overtake traditional resources and dominate the market. As a result, agricultural land may be abandoned once farmers consider changing their occupations owing to the difficulty of earning profit. Therefore, over-depending on imported goods may bar citizens from growing their own food resources. Moreover, consuming vast food from other countries may raise the cost of living. Some people may argue that introducing foreign goods allows citizens to choose from various types of products. For instance, people can try pizza from Italy and black tea from the UK. The diversity may improve living standards since the public can enjoy certain new things. However, since people may prefer consuming foreign goods, the local market may lose its competitive edge. Therefore, the general price level may be raised once the public relies on exotic products which enhance their market share. In conclusion, consuming food from other regions may not be beneficial to people since it can lower living standards and impede social development.