Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born. What might be the reasons for this? What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Surprisingly, many people prefer to stay in the neighborhood where they were born for the rest of their lives. That spending most of the time living in the same area allows people to be familiar to the places and provides convenience; however, they need to trade off these advantages with the number of times spent on travelling and limited opportunity in career. One of the key advantages for spending most time living in the town nearby birthplace is familiarity in those areas which offers people to have convenient lifestyle. Knowing all the key facilities – restaurants, markets, pharmacies. People can easily decide which one to visit in order to feel satisfied and which way to commute to those places for saving time. Many recent studies found that the more time people spent residing in the same community, the more convenient and happiness their life are. In addition, many elders were found to spend most of their life living in the same accommodation because they are afraid to be in the area where they are not familiar with. On the other hand, there are several disadvantages to locating in home city. Firstly, it is undeniable that people need to change their frequent place of visit as they grow up and those places are inevitably far from their residence, resulting in more transportation time. To illustrate, one need to spend over four hours per day on commuting to their workplace, since their home is far. Moreover, limited types of careers are offered in the town, results in less choice for people to get their career of interest. In other words, the job positions available for countryside are far more less than variety of jobs opportunities available in urban cities. To sum up, while choosing to live in the neighborhood near birthplace can offer favorable lifestyle, people can lose time for transportation and job opportunities. With many factors to be considered, people should think wisely about their location of living.