In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

A problem of our generation is that more people are overweight and they do a less physical activity so the consequences are reflecting directly on their health. For instance, the causes of these issues come from the quality of the food we are eating, from the stressful life that we are living. Also some problems come from the way that Governments are regulating the food industry and how are they stimulating people on doing more movement. In the present essay, we will address these causes and we will analyze the solutions to avoid more people getting sicker because of the lifestyle they have at the moment. Firstly, when we speak about causes that make people weigh more and provoke health issues we think of poor quality food that is available for people to buy. For example, as a measure, the Governments should regulate more strictly the food industry, the substances they use, and the way the food is prepared food and make it available for people to eat. It is very well known that food nowadays is full of additives, salt, sugar, and preservatives, only to make food last longer, be ready in a few minutes, and be tasty. So, the Governments should control better the food industry to not make people get sick from the food they are eating. Secondly, people are doing less and less movement or sports. A way to counteract this would be to motivate people in choosing alternative ways to travel to work or to do daily tasks. For example, the States could give people some vouchers to buy bikes or make free bicycles available for the public to borrow. Another example would be motivating people who arrive to work or to school with bikes by getting more free days off. Thirdly, another factor to increasing health problems and decreasing sports activity is too much stress at work and the fact that work doesn't end when people get home. It is widely known that too much work and stress without relaxation could lead to heart problems. A solution to this problem could be adopting the system of 3 or 4 days work week, for people to have more time for relaxing activities. In conclusion, the health problems that nowadays are caused by being overweight and by doing less physical activity can be tackled only by a combined effort from all the parts involved in the issue. The people that are having this lifestyle, should be open to educating themselves on the choices they do every day, and the Governments should watch more carefully over the food industry. Private companies have a great role too because it is in their interest to have healthier and more productive employees, and using the measure to motivate workers in having a healthy life would bring them also value.