In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend large sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

When it comes to erecting new railway lines within a country for very fast trains between cities, some people opine that it is necessary while others think we should spend money on enhancing current public transport. In my point of view, it is worthwhile to do a mixture of both. On the one hand, newly modern railway systems play an important role in the development of countries these days. This means of transportation is definitely economically beneficial to their travel and transportation. Take good examples, citizens could save a large amount of time for commute and companies themselves reduce financial burdens in terms of delivering or shipping goods. Also, investment in fast railway lines helps pave the way for promoting domestic tourism. Indeed, they are a way of building bridges between tourist attractions, and, in essence, they contribute to opening the doors to many opportunities and economic benefits for remote areas and underdeveloped regions through tourism. On the other hand, we also need pay more attention to the improvement of existing public transport. Obviously, we need a superior public transport system for safety reasons. This helps limit a variety of risks while people and goods are in transit including serious accidents or crashes involving conveyances in consequence of the poor quality of the transit system. Besides, the better transport system for public use is, the more satisfied and believable people might get when using it. Nowadays, many people feel afraid of travelling by this kind of transport by reason of increasing concerns related to pickpockets or thieves so it is crucial to devote money to the measures of security. For the aforementioned opinions, it seems to me that it is deserved spending money on both the construction of new railway lines and the improvement of existing public transport.