Some people believe that time spent on televiosion, video and computer games can be beneficial to children. Others believe this has a negative effects on a child. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In these modern times, children are inclined toward the digital world, where, they have easy access to it. It is argued that some people think that usage of these digital platforms is useful to kids, however, others believe in another way. This essay will be addressing both views separately. Firstly, there are certain benefits to using television and playing video games for children. Television can be used for educational purposes, for example, watching National Geographic channel or News channels, which will boost the kids' knowledge level to get in-depth knowledge regarding some subjects, which they might not find in the books. In addition to that, playing video games, for the time being, helps them to relax or even boost up their energy and gaming skills. For example, playing chess on a computer gives out the same composure as a board game. This can increase the skillset the child can develop in that particular game. Hence, children can be benefited from the usage of such electronic devices. Secondly, we can see many negative impacts on young people by the usage of such electronic devices. Spending time on television and for computer games will gradually take them to a level of obsession. This will lead the children to lose focus in studies and other extra-curricular activities, which may even spoil their childhood. Another reason to believe this statement is that, this addiction will detach them from social life, where the kids are more prone to be at home rather than exploring the outside world. For example, recent studies found out that, 60% of children aged between 7 and 15 have zero interaction with society due to their dependence on video games and cartoons. Therefore, attraction toward these gadgets can have a detrimental effect on children. To conclude, there are equal advantages and disadvantages to children spending time on electronic accessories. They can be beneficial to their education, as well as, a habit that may spoil their life. In my opinion, children should reduce their time spent on these, because, to get out of the dependency on such appliances, will require a high effort.