Many people leave the countryside for the greater opportunities which are offered by cities. This move is not without disadvantages for both people and the environment. What are some benefits and drawbacks of urbanization?

ADVANTAGES DISADVANTAGES URBANISATION Experts have debated that in a constantly developing world, the global phenomenon of urbanisation has brought numerous advantages while analyzing how impactful this event could have on the global population. In this essay I will analyze both advantages and disadvantages of urbanisation, using examples to sustain arguments. Following this, a reasoned conclusion will be shared. First of all, urbanisation has brought enormous enhancements to rural inhabitants, which have had access to an easier life. Therefore, they have access to many benefits, such as more comfortable houses, education, medical services and entertainment. Understandably, rural residents may obtain job occupations in a market that could offer them more possibilities. For instance, one of the cities that have benefitted from this phenomenon was Bejing, the dream for many Chinese citizens, which benefitted from one of the most significant urbanisation events. On the other hand, the major drawback is pollution, which affects most urban areas around the world. As recent studies suggest, two in three people are more likely to suffer from air bone diseases due to the massive emissions of fossil fuels, which causes acid rain and smog. For example, in China, especially in the Hong Kong area, where the urbanisation rate is up to 0,54%, health services have registered a significant fall in terms of quality, while slums have developed faster causing a rise in diseases. In conclusion, after considering both sides of urbanisation, I am strongly convinced that the drawbacks outweigh the pros. Thus, considering the impact urbanisation has on the population, governments should intervene in order to limit as much as possible the negative effects.