Some people say history is one of the most important school subjects. Other people think that, in today’s world, subjects like science and technology are more important than history. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is irrefutable that STEM subjects (science, technology, English, and Math) are becoming more and more popular in schools these days. It is argued by some that history is a significant subject. However, others believe that STEM subjects are far more advantageous. In this essay, I will discuss both perspectives, but I agree with the latter. There are two main reasons why some people think that history is important. Firstly, history is part of people's identity. In other words, in any place in the world, people have habits that represent their history, either by food or by living standards. For example, in China, people still use sticks to eat which is an old habit that reveals their history. Another reason is that students should study about their nations, where they come from, or what victories their countries have. This can be known only by teaching the history subject at schools. On the other hand, people who believe that science and technology subjects are more important, give the following reasons. A key reason is that studying these subjects is more beneficial in real life. This means that in today’s world, everything around is becoming automated, from communications to work and so on. Hence, these subjects are more important than history. Another key reason is that STEM subjects could benefit students more in their future life because of the demand for jobs in these fields. A growing body of research suggests that more than 65% of today’s job opportunities are in the technological fields. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although history subject is considered important for students to study, albeit not as essential as science and technology subjects in their real life.