In the past, when students did a university degree, they tended to study in their own country. Nowadays, they have more opportunity to study aborad. Do the advantages of this development outweigh the disadvantage?

Higher education is of great significance for individuals’ future. In the old days, the majorly of teenagers preferred to get a undergraduate degree in their homeland. However, there are considerably opportunities for youngsters to graduate from universitates abroad in these days. In my opinion, the pros of this situation are outweigh the cons, and this essay will explain why so. Although study abroad carry disadvantages, the advantages of which is far more obvious. On the one hand, opponents of study oversea always argue that it will cause them to lack money and to lose the interpersonal relationship. Firstly, the tuition fees, travel expenses, rents, transportation fees, books and supplies, and the overall cost of living can add up quickly when getting a degree in other countries. Loan may be required in order to pay those bills, and after graduation, graduates need to spend years to pay off debt under large pressure. Secondly, due to the long distance, students will be far away from their families and friends - they cannot see each other every single day as before. As a consequence, their relationships will highly likely to be estranged, miss the support and affection given by close people in their home country. Whereas, I believe the benefits are outweighed by the drawbacks. On the other hand, living in a different country alone, this experience can help teenagers to gain independence and broaden their horizons. To begin with, undergraduates are possibly be experiencing certain levels of independence for the very first time. They need to solve problems by themselves, because they cannot rely on their parents anymore. Therefore, they will learn problem solving skills after dealing with a variety of living tasks and challenges. Besides, plenty studies have shown that most of the successful entrepreneurs have studied abroad. By exploring different world and different culture can broaden once’s horizon. Get inspired by foreign knowledge and education, learning who they are, knowing what they want to do, and identifying what they can do in the future career. In conclusion, it seems to me that self-independence and international perspective have a more positive long-term influence on lives than the thought of negative aspects, for example, financial problems and long distance connections.