Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary schools rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

It is common in many countries to teach a secondary language at a primary school and many parents start raising bilingual children in some modern families. This essay will overweigh its advantages more than its drawback, the confusion with mother language, which many parents misbelieving. Learning a new language at early ages has scientifically proven advantages of improving child's brain while the misbelief is just a conjecture with no valid claims. Introducing a language during the developing stage of a child had many prominent advantages physically and mentally. The skill to catch words and translating them is an inherent ability in an infant's brain and therefore it is more straightforward for a child to learn a new language than as an adult while the brain is not functioning efficiently. Many scientists therefore claim that a child who has learnt bilingually at his primary school is likely to have more creativity and problem solving skills. Moreover, in a bilingually raised household, the children tend to have chances to learn different cultures and therefore they become more open- minded than others. Having said these scientific findings, many elders in most families hold a superstition that teaching of a secondary language will ruin the national language and make the child more confused. Although this misbelief is strong in some countries, there is no valid reason for that. Despite that some parents think those bilingual kids will struggle while communicating with other peers, it is found out that those kids have higher probability of being leaders or top students in many primary schools and kindergartens. To conclude, teaching more than a mother language can brings positive effects on the child's brain by improving cognitive skills, whereas the only drawback that some people claim is only misunderstanding the science.