Unhealthy eating has a negative effect on both individuals and the society in which they live. Some people think that the government should tax unhealthy foods while others believe that a ‘fat tax’ is unfair and unnecessary. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

The increased availability of instant food and fast food has revolutionised our eating habits which is detrimental both to the individuals that consume it and to society at large. While some people believe that the government should impose taxation on unhealthy foods, others contend that may put a burden on poor families. In this essay, I will explore the rationale for both beliefs and proffer justification for my own viewpoint. Compared to fresh and organic products, it is an undeniable fact that instant and fast food items are both affordable and convenient. The major consumers of these products are, usually, less wealthy families, hence the introduction of a "fax tax", may result in putting a financial burden on those families. Yet, although I certainly agree that fast food is affordable, the cost of treating the illness it causes in later life is significant. One point which I believe that taxation to be absolutely pivotal is the fact that consuming junk foods to excess results in serious health problems. Foods such as fried chicken, hamburgers and chips - which are incredibly high in fat and salt - are responsible for health problems as high blood pressure, obesity and heart disease. Moreover, the cost of treating the illnesses it causes in later life is significant and it is frequently governments and society that cover these costs rather than the individual. Hence, I feel that taxing on these items would be entirely justified. By way of conclusion, while consuming unhealthy food is beneficial in the short term, its long-term effects are generally negative. Given the health risks associated with unhealthy foods, I believe that it is necessary for the government to impose a tax on them.