In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in someway. Why is that? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

There is no denying the fact that the main purpose of the advertisements is debatable. It is argued that recently some companies claim that their products are new in their adverts. In this essay, I will explain the reasons behind this, and why it is a negative development. In today’s competitive market, companies are willing to do many things in order to stay in the market, such as fake ads. A key reason behind that is they want to increase their market share by increasing their sales, which could be done by reaching as many people as possible through the adverts. Another reason is that companies are working very hard to build up a name for themselves. In other words, to be known to a maximum number of people. In order to do this, they convince their target market that their products are new and exclusive, simply to sell more and stay in the market. There are many reasons why I believe that it is a negative development. The first and the most important reason is that it is a temporary situation, this is because when customers recognize that it was a fake advert, they will not buy anything again, hence, a company will lose its customers ' loyalty. A growing body of research suggests that more than 40% of people who buy products from fake ads, refused to buy any product from the same company again, even if it was not fake which, in turn, will affect the company's reliability, thus, losing all customers in the long term. In conclusion, I would like to reiterate that although companies are providing fake adverts in order to survive against their competitors, I believe that this is eventually will lead to loss of customers and market share as well.