Modern societies need specialists in certain fields, but not in others. Some people therefore think that governments should pay university fees for students who study subjects that are needed by society. Those who choose to study less relevant subjects should not receive government funding. Would the advantages of such an educational policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In modern societies, it is so common to employ the specialists in professional fields. Some people proposed the idea that government should pay the tuition fee for students who study in the appointed department that is needed by society. In my opinion, I consider this suggestion is helpful not only for society but the students. Firstly, the government responsible for the tuition as cultivating future specialists in our society, it will possibly make our countries better and more efficient. Secondly, the students who live in poverty obtained more opportunities to study for free at the university, which accomplished equality of education and resulted in less burden on their families. However, this suggestion may have some concerns. First of all, some students would probably select subjects they don't favour because of budgets. Above mentioned, to cost down a fee of university and reduce the burden of family, some students would give up their favourite department, and decided to take a subject they don't like. It is very pitiful that people can't even choose what they love due to lack of money. In addition, some people might take this advantage and work abroad when they got the degrees or certificates. It would cause a lot of burden of our society and have nothing to contribute to our country, it may even grab this chance from other students who are urgently needed. In conclusion, I totally agree with the advice for studying free in relevant subjects because it would truly help some students who aren'tt available to afford the tuition in university although it may have some disadvantages.