Many people believe that cigarette smoking has had a negative impact for far too long and the only solution to end it is to make cigarettes illegal worldwide. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Smoking cigarettes is believed to have long-term detrimental effects on individuals and the community as a hold. Some people have an opinion that the sole way to deal with this problem is to prohibit the use of tobacco globally. From my perspective, I partly agree with this statement as I argue there are advantages associated with this issue. To begin with, folks have the right to think that cigarettes should be banned worldwide. Smoking is harmful to health as it leads to various health problems including lung cancer, which is the main cause of death in smokers. It might take a long time to show symptoms, so tobacco users hardly pay attention to it until feeling the pain. For example, about 7 million people die because of smoking every year. Moreover, smoking cigarettes not only negatively impacts smokers but also affects the surrounding people in a dangerous way. These people may suffer from the same health issues as smokers. Therefore, it is said that tobacco should be prohibited for the benefit of the community. On the other hand, the tobacco industry plays an important role in contributing to the economy of one country. To explicate, governments can make a profit through the source of huge taxes on cigarettes. Also, thousands of people work in cigarette-related industries and this creates job opportunities. If smoking is banned completely, these people will become unemployed and unable to earn money to afford their expenditures. In addition, smoking may help to boost mood and enhance creativity as well as imagination. Some smokers even use cigarettes as a way to concentrate on their work. For instance, Uncle Ho, the Great President of Vietnam, used to be a heavy smoker to keep himself alert when he was young. In conclusion, although smoking is detrimental in some aspects, it would bring about various advantages. Instead of banning smoking, governments should raise the awareness of residents of the dangers of tobacco and impose more taxes on cigarettes to limit their sales.