Some people think that a sense of competition should be encouraged. Others believe that children who are taught to co-operate rather than compete become more useful adults. Discuss both views

It is believed by few individuals that children should be taught to compete, while others opine that cooperation is a more important quality for students to imbibe. I, too, agree with the latter view. This essay intends to delve into both perspectives before drawing a reasonable conclusion. To commence with, in the era of cut-throat competition, if a competitive spirit is instilled in the students, they strive to put extra effort and give their best in order to keep up with the competition. This, further, enables them to work hard and to do well in their careers when they grow up. For instance, if a child takes up entrepreneurship in future, he will have to compete with other companies. Therefore, competitiveness would help him run his business. On the other hand, the virtue of cooperation is, without any speck of doubt, more important than competing with others. To elaborate, if a child is taught to help and understand others, he goes on to become a responsible and good citizen. As a result, a culture based on sympathy would foster peaceful relations among people. Thus, the world would become a better place to live. With better understanding among world leaders, for example, futile wars can be avoided. In conclusion, I reiterate that help and cooperation should be praised and enhanced not only for the growth of an individual, but also the society as a whole. However, some competition is also required for self-awareness. I hold this opinion.