Policemen carrying a gun may encourage the level of violence. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is assumed that if a policeman is armed with guns, it will give rise to more violent society; however, I will disagree with this claim due to the irrelevant connections behind the claim. There seems to be reasons as to why the gun ownership of the police begets the apprehension about further violence around us. Those who think in this way may point to several potential pitfalls as consequences of arming the police force – the act may be interpreted by the populace as a symptom of unsafe society, which tends to stimulate a frenzy of possessing arms among the majority for the sake of self-protection – it will inevitably exacerbate the abuse of weapons in society. To complicate matter even more, police officers are prone to misuse of guns in dealing with tricky conditions in public, which might injure or even kill innocent bystanders. Plausible though the above misgivings seem, it is difficult for me to see societal violence as a consequence of equipping the police with guns. The problem with the fear is the lack of causal link between the premise and conclusion – those critics are oblivious to the fact that the violent crime is a complicate conundrum that should have been attributed to various causations, whether these be inadequate governmental supervision over weapon deals, or the influence of media violence on impressionable adolescents. By contrast, the police can use guns as an effective deterrent to potential lawbreakers and scare off the would-be criminals, thus may reduce the crime rate to a large extent. From what has been discussed above, I don’t believe it is reasonable to attribute the violent affliction in society to the gun ownership of the police.