In the future, there will be a higher proportion of older people than young people in many countries. Is it a positive or negative development?

The phenomenon of an increasing large number of elderly people appears to be one that receives much attention. It is speculated that in the foreseeable future, the percentage of older people will account for more than that of youngsters in several nations. In my opinion, the rapid increase of the older population may result in a myriad of issues. To commence with, if the world population were to get older, there could emerge a predicament, which is labor shortage. Due to the obvious fact that the body condition of older individuals does not allow them to endure demanding tasks, industries have to rely on workers who are superior in strength to handle the manual work. As a consequence, when more members of society belong to the older age group, corporations will likely experience great difficulty in recruiting suitable employees. This may lead to a decline in productivity of several businesses, directly damaging the economy as a whole. Furthermore, elders are significantly more fragile compared to those who are of the younger generation, evidenced by the fact that when people become older, their health system begins to degrade, resulting in the vulnerability to illness and diseases that can be witnessed in a multitude of elderly people. This, consequently, produces a plethora of problems for the healthcare system. For instance, the expense required to support and treat senior patients is considerably high, especially when health facilities have to renovate and innovate their equipment in order to meet the demand of those patients. Additionally, there is a likelihood that this trend will cause hospitals to be overcrowded, which may bring detrimental consequences for the patients as well as the staff of hospitals. In conclusion, if the population of nations continues to age rapidly, there may be outcomes that are hazardous to the economy alongside the healthcare system.