Many old buildings are protected by law because they are part of a nation's history. However, some people think old buildings should be knocked down to make way for new ones because people needhouses and offices. How important is it to maintain old building? Should history stand in the way of progress?

In this date and age, an increasing number of ancient buildings are guarded by the authority because they have historical significance in a nation. It is however thought by some that old constructions should be demolished and replaced by modern ones. This essay will give information about the importance of maintaining ancient structures and prove that this does not mean progress should stop. Preserving certain old buildings is important for several reasons. Firstly, these structures provide us with a deep understanding of the history of our countries, showing us how people many centuries ago lived their lives. Without them, future generations will only have to read and imagine the nation's history. We should preserve artworks for those who come after us. Secondly, many of these buildings become tourist attractions which boosts the tourism industry and helps to develop the economy of the country. Additionally, citizens will have more opportunities in the hospitality sector. To illustrate, over 20.000 tourists visit Ho Chi Minh City in Viet Nam every year, thus each of them contributed to the economy by buying tickets, booking accommodation, etc. Some cities are still protecting their historical buildings, though new high-rise buildings are showing up in the surrounding area. The historical buildings are maintained by the state government and they are standing along with the new skyscrapers. Many people believe that the combination of these old and modern buildings has made the city become fascinating and attractive. As a result, they become one of the tourist destination places. In conclusion, retaining the ancient buildings is definitely an important thing, it not only protects our cultural heritage but also brings us some advantages in terms of boosting the economy and becoming unique structures.