Many young children have unsupervised access to the internet and are using the internet to socialize with others. This can lead to a number of dangerous situations which can be threatening for children. What problems do children face when going online without parental supervision? How can these problems be solved?

Undoubtedly, the Internet is an unlimited tool, that is being used by all humans on earth. Having children accessing the website without supervision, and interacting with whoever is behind the screen, exposes them to several dangers. As far as I am concerned, there are two approaches that can be applied to tackle such a challenge. To begin with, when youngsters and kids come across various content which is not suitable for their age group, this may have a serious psychological shock on them, which can be long-lasting and impact their ability to develop a proper and mature perspective about life. Also, children might get exposed to bad influencers and start mimicking persons or situations which might be inappropriate. Moreover, talking to strangers on chatting rooms, or on social platforms is a potentially dangerous issue. In my opinion, to grabble with these problems, two implications can be applied. Firstly, supervision from parents is extremely necessary whenever possible. Nonetheless, parents are not available all the time, there are now special protective measures that families can use. For example, software programs that can be downloaded, and allow only particular websites to open according to the age stage. Secondly, A broader intervention should be implemented by higher authorities. To clarify more, all browsing tools should require personal identification proof -including age- in order to have an access, hence, an automatic filtration of the content takes place. In conclusion, free access to the Internet, can make young people susceptible to either emotional or physical threats. However, more attention needs to be paid by parents in addition to protective filters from hardware and software stakeholders.