some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Completing different community service projects can not only have great benefits - both academically and emotionally - for the students, but also be beneficial for certain groups of people who are in grave need. However, if it becomes compulsory, I believe, the result will be counterproductive. Below is the explanation for the fact that I am against making an altruistic behaviour an obligatory action. First of all, there might be students who prefer to work their extra time to earn money and save for their university tuition. The obligation of unpaid community works will prevent them from achieving their goal. Moreover, it is possible that some students have more responsibilities at home such as helping parents to take care of their sibling or assisting their grandparents. Forcing this group of students to perform same tasks at school would be intolerable. In addition, obliging students to carry out a task against their passion can be demotivating. Nevertheless, such an idea could have some advantages. For instance, helping elderly by large number of community service providers increases the satisfaction and well-being of the society. Similarly, making students clear the streets or parks of rubbish contributes to the community ’s beautification. In summary, it is clear that the facts that could exacerbate the intention of such community service outweighs the benefits. Thus, I highly recommend that such services must be optional.