Smoking not only harms the smoker, but also those who are nearby. Therefore, smoking should be banned in public places. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Medical studies have shown that smoking not only leads to well-being problems for the smoker but also for people close by. As a result of this, many believe that smoking should not be allowed in public areas. Although there are arguments on both sides, I strongly agree that a prohibition is the most appropriate course of action. Opponents of such an injunction argue against it for several reasons. Firstly, they say that passive smokers make the choice to breathe in other people’s smoke by going to a zone where it is allowed. If they would prefer not to smog passively, then they do not need to visit points where smoking is permitted. In addition, they believe an embargo would possibly drive many bars and pubs out of business as smokers would not go there anymore. They also argue it is a matter of freedom of choice. Smoking is not against the law, so individuals should have the freedom to smoke where they wish. However, there are more convincing arguments in favour of a restriction. First and foremost, it has been proven that tobacco consists of carcinogenic compounds which cause serious harm to a person’s wellness, not only to the smoker. Anyone around them can develop cancers of the lungs, mouth and throat, and other sites in the body. It is simply not fair to impose this upon another person. It is also the case that people’s well-being is more important than businesses. In any case, pubs and restaurants could adapt to a ban by, for example, allowing smoking areas. In conclusion, it is clear that it should be made illegal to smoke in public neighbourhoods. This would improve the health of thousands of people, and that is most definitely a positive development.