It is more important to spend public money on promoting a healthy lifestyle than to spend it on the treatment of people who are already ill. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A large portion of the public's money is being spent on treating people in the hospitals, while it might be better to utilize it for the prevention of multiple diseases by promoting a healthier lifestyle to the population. This essay will discuss the importance of preventing disease by having a clean and active lifestyle. Although some pathologies might not have a direct relationship with the lifestyle one might have, an important amount of diseases are connected strongly to the day-to-day routine of patients. Having a sedentary lifestyle, consuming large amounts of sugary and transformed foods as well as industrial ones full of hidden preservatives and saturated fats impacts massively the health by causing gradual diseases such as obesity, arterial hypertension, diabetes and atherosclerosis that might complicate into many severe cases like heart attacks or brain ischemia. In order to prevent curable illnesses, it is important to have a clean and balanced diet, privilege more whole food such as vegetables, fruits and organic meat and poultry which will eventually lead to a decrease in the amounts of sugar and saturated fat consumed daily. Adding to that the important part that exercising has in the equation, having an active lifestyle and including more walking into the daily habits will have a good impact on the cardiovascular health, as well as the bones and articulations strenght that are directly improved by having a growth in the muscle mass. Overall, preserving our health has to be our first priority to prevent the development of illness, but it is crucial to keep a balanced amount of public money for curing diseases that might not be preventable.