Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmers (for example working for a charity, improving the neighborhood, or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Helping others to achieve their goals and meet their needs has always been an altruistic behavior and encouraged large groups of people to have contributions. Having said so, schools can be considered as the primary step to teaching and informing the new generation of such assistance. In spite of the fact that there are some people who believe free community service must be compulsory in schools, I am against the idea and I believe this should remain an optional program. There is no doubt that working for a charity or teaching a sport to younger children by high school students will not only nurture their leadership skills but also improve their communication expertise which will lead to higher chances of getting admitted to the top-ranked universities where charity works are highly valued. Furthermore, by offering free services to society, governments are more likely to save the budget for more fundamental improvements to the neighbourhood. However, above mentioned benefits should not interfere with students ’ ambitions and goals. Although there might be students who are eager to work in their spare time, they rather invest their time in places where they can earn money to save for their university studies. Having said so, if schools waste the precious spare time of a student on solving other’s problems instead of theirs, the result will be counterproductive. Furthermore, there are groups of students who are willing to perform tasks that are not considered compulsory community service, and obliging them would be demotivating. On the other hand, there might be circumstances where students who are forced to perform community services are themselves busy at home doing the same tasks. Thus, the duplication will be overwhelming for them. In summary, it is clear that obligatory free services are more likely to have detrimental effects on school students compared to their potential benefits. Thus, I strongly disagree with the idea of making it compulsory. Yet, it is beneficial to have the service and motivate students to volunteer for such services.