You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Over the last half-century, the pace of change in the life of human beings has increased beyond our wildest expectations. This rapid change has created a wide sector of people who are in need for help to adapt to this modern society. Consequently, numerous organizations all over the world have started free community service programs. Although there are some commentators who believe that youth participation in these services should be always a personal option, I am strongly inclined towards the opinion that it should be an obligatory part of high school curriculum. Firstly, youngsters who participate in the charity work teaching English to newcomers helping young children to learn sports, gain great experience, knowledge and moral values that will significantly influence their future studies in college or their careers. For example, a recent study conducted in London has shown that high school pupils who worked in unpaid community service achieved higher scores in their college exams. Furthermore, a lot of individuals in the society will have better access to the services offered by the community through those ambitious and active students. Lastly, the government could save money that can be allocated to other nationwide services such as the construction of roads, hospitals, and other projects. Undoubtedly great benefits will come from involving free community services in high school programs. On the other hand, a strong argument can be made on the opposite side. To begin with, opponents think that these free activities might delay secondary school students from joining the college. In addition, many high school students need to work to save money for their university study, for instance, a recent statistics have revealed that more than 25% of high school student worked casual jobs to save money for their high school student worked casual jobs to save money for the future of studies. Moreover, high school curriculum is already overwhelmed by various subjects, thus it free services becomes a compulsory pack, this will burden the students. To sum up, it can be clearly seen that the pros of adding society service in high school program outweigh the cons. I do recommend that the ministry of education encourage high school implements these steps make our community better.