Due to the massive expansion of supermarkets recently, many small local businesses are unable to compete. It causes the closure of the local ones. Some people think that the situation will bring about the death of local community. Do you agree or disagree with it? Give reasons and examples to support your essay.

In this modern world, there is competition between modernized shopping malls and the traditional markets, whereas those shopping malls are trending among shoppers and clients. As a result, some local businesses are closed as they cannot compete with those supermarkets and it is said that this will badly affect the local community. In this essay, I will articulate both views along with my perception. To begin with, products showcased at supermarkets are expansively demanded by many housewives and customers as everything they need can be bought in one place and they are accessible. To exemplify, a housewife can get all the kitchen appliances, fresh vegetables, groceries as well as clothing in a huge mall without having to bargain the price as they are fixed and she just needs to pay for all of them in one counter. Moreover, the decorations, the good quality of products and the feeling of shopping in a luxurious mall persuade us to believe that it is worth shopping there. Thus, shopping at a massive retailer makes us satisfied. On the contrary, individuals have to look for different categories and goods they needed from shop to shop and go from place to place which is time-consuming. People think that some products such as imported products are unavailable in the local market, as a result, they need to order it from another online store or shift to other marts. However, local and hand-made products in which some items are limited are only available at small shops. They just need to be promoted and advertised in an effective way that suits the market. Consequently, those limited edition and hand-made products can be the point that can encourage clients to visit their stores. In conclusion, I partially agree that the expansion of luxurious malls enormously threatens the small local businesses, nonetheless, this cannot be the reason that the small shops in the community totally shut down. Instead, small local stores can strengthen their products which are only available at their shops.