The continued rise in the world’s population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. What are the causes of this continued rise? Do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

Many nations are now encountering the critical issue of the growing number of populations. In my opinion, I strongly agree that this is the most critical issue that the human worldwide is currently facing. In this essay, I will explain the cause of this issue and my standpoint on this issue. Overpopulation is caused by several reasons, both individual contributions and external factors. One of the major reasons is the lack of knowledge about birth control. Having an improper education about birth control, many people, especially teenagers, tend to unintentionally have a baby. Many surveys show that women aged at 15-18 are the segment with the highest percentage of pregnancy among other age groups within the last decade. Consequently, as the number of children raised by young parents is higher, the population of the young generation is increasing consecutively. Another reason is that the advanced technology in the medical field can prevent humans from harmful diseases, thus developing their longevity. With innovative equipment, patients were able to get diagnosed and cure more precisely and productively than earlier. In many countries, the number of elders in society is growing as a result of effective healthcare. From my point of view, massive population growth is indeed a serious problem that people should be concerned with since it can attribute to other negative consequences. The first problem to address is the shortage of essential things in life -- habitats, food, and energy since there is increasing demand and with limited supply. Another issue is global warming, which results from higher natural resource consumption and deforestation to allocate for people ’s needs. Many countries started to adapt the policy to control the growth rate of the population to alleviate the intensity of this problem. For example, China government has announced a policy to limit the number of children per family, and those who want to have more children need to pay an enormous amount of tax and that child will not be subsidized by the government. In conclusion, I agree that overpopulation is one of the most critical issues in every society which results from the risen number of young generations, while people have a longer lifespan. People should be responsible for concerning and solving this issue together with the government sector as earliest as possible since this issue could accelerate other critical issues in the future.