alternative energy sources that use the natural power of the wind, waves and sun are too expensive and complicated to replace the coal ,oil and gas that we use to power our cities and transport. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this option?

It is a heated debate that the sources of renewable energy, such as wind, seawater, and sunlight are costly and ineffective to replace the non-renewable energy that has been widely used in our daily lives. In my opinion, I mostly agree with the statement and there are some detrimental flaws of renewable energy, even though it might bring environmental benefits to the cities. Indeed, it is environmentally-friendy when we consume more renewable energy. As we all know, the overconsumption of coal and gas has caused serious air pollution in a variety of cities, due to the large emission of carbon dioxide. However, power generated by the nature can effectively reduce the emission of carbon dioxide and hence the environment can be well protected. Also, non-renewable energy will be used up one day, which may lead to a serious problem of energy shortage around the globe. For instance, coal is formed from dead bodies of ancient animals million years ago. The sources of coal are rigid and cannot be increased easily. On the contrary, the sources of renewable energy such as wind, seawater and sunlight are gifts from nature and the supply is not scarce. Sadly, we should not neglect the problems faced by the renewable energy supply in nowadays society. First of all, the set-up cost for the infrastructures of renewable energy is significantly higher than that of non-renewable energy. For instance, it costs almost a hundred million Hong Kong dollars to build a small wind turbine farm on Yap Lek Island, while a big coal supply factory can be set up at a much lower expense. Other than that, the feasibility of the renewable energy supply is low. In other words, not every city is a perfect place to widely adopt renewable energy use. For example, the harbours near Hong Kong do not have big waves and therefore it is not an ideal place for the common use of seawater energy. Thirdly, the sophisticated generation system of renewable energy has low efficiency in generating power use, especially when it is compared with the use of non-renewable energy. For example, only 6% of power is generated by eco-friendly energy sources, while over 80% of it is from non-renewable energy. In conclusion, I do think that the sources of renewable energy are worth establishing as they can safeguard the ecosystem, but there are a lot of obstacles that are waiting to be tackled, such as the high financial cost, geographical limitations and low efficiency.