More and more people buy a wide range of household goods like television, microwave oven and rice cooker. Do you think this is positive or negative development?

The past years have seen a dramatic development in technology. Many inventions were invented to improve the quality of life such as the rice cooker, television and the washing machine. Due to its convention, a large number of people decided to have some goods in their houses. A lot of people think that having a lot of modern household goods have some bad effects on people. Personally, I strongly disagree with this statement. This essay will present the reasons why I disagree with this viewpoint. Firstly, having modern machines can help housewives to improve their living standards and save more time. With the help of up-to-date technology, it is unnecessary to do the housework manually. For instance, the wives can have more spare time to do other things or they can let their hair down a little bit. Secondly, owning electronic devices like television or mobile phones can help people to entertain or exposure to other cultures, using mobile phones can have people keep in contact with family members and friends or search for information. Furthermore watching television is a way to relax after a hectic day. For instance, television is the main way to entertain in my country, it is so popular that every house in Vietnam at least owns a television. In conclusion, modern technology is helping us to improve our life and our productivity. However, we should not rely too much on those machines, I suggest that we should just recognize machines as a way to help us.