In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it?

If the population of highly qualified graduates is increasing, why do so many of them remain unemployed? Never before have we seen such low employment rates. This essay will expand on how saturated job markets and fewer job opportunities may have led to this predicament, And what ought to be done to rectify the problem. To start, many professional sectors have experienced a rise in interest over the past few years, meaning considerably more students have chosen to pursue a career in these areas. this, however, has resulted in reduced demand for more employees in these fields. Moreover, this, coupled with the influx of more experienced international workers into the job market, the space for graduates to occupy in a workplace has plummeted. A perfect example of this lies in the Medical field, where thousands of international graduates from Bulgaria, Hungary and Italy alike, have joined the English workforce. In 2020, The leftover 800 English graduates without a hospital placement. On the contrary, in order to alleviate graduates of these issues, Steps need to be taken to expand job opportunities and create graduate schemes to ensure employment for more graduates. Broadening businesses would be a great way to provide more jobs but many companies will still need government funding to aid them with this. By introducing graduate schemes, companies will be able to ciphen siphon off a number of employment slots for graduates only, leaving the rest open for more experienced newcomers. For example, the supermarket giant Ocado, introduced 10 computer science graduate jobs per year in 2019, which afforded a 24% increase in employment of graduate computer scientists. In conclusion, although the increasingly crowded job markets and rising popularity of moving abroad for work have hindered recent graduates in their employment search. However, with the introduction of more graduate schemes and government funding, I believe a solution to these problems is well within reach.