Many parents today do not spend much time with their children. Why is this? Does this affect parents or children?

Nowadays, a vast majority of parents are busy with works and could not spend a great deal of time with their offspring. In this essay, I would mention some of the reasons behind this, and I would argue that this phenomenon can have huge impacts on kids. To begin with, in my opinion, there are several reasons why these days parents have less free time to spend with their children. First and foremost, by expanding cities and growing population, the cost of living has increased dramatically. Paying bills, renting accommodation and meeting essential needs, have led people to adopt more than on jobs or to stay for longer hours in workplaces in order to earn high salaries. Furthermore, unlike past, when only men were considered as breadwinners, nowadays both men and women are working outside the house, which makes the amount of parental time limited to night hours when children are normally sleeping or to weekends, which parents do household chores. I think, it is the kids who might be influenced largely by lack of effective communication with parents due to the confined time that parents give them. Firstly, children might suffer emotionally and mentally of the absence of their parents. They might lose the warmth and intimate atmosphere of home and could not share their problems, concerns and feeling with parents who are not available most of the times. Additionally, nurses and babysitters can not play the parental role and bring up children in the way that the mothers and fathers can. In this way, children might adapt their peers’ behaviors and if they are not suitable friend, for example being impolite, rude or juvenile criminal, there is a risk of becoming offenders, which can jeopardize the offspring’s future lives. In conclusion, I believe that in this era, families might not have enough time to spend at home and it has adverse effects on children ’s lives.