Today, the high sales of popular consumer goods reflect the power of advertising and not the real needs of the society in which they are sold. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The industrial revolution enables great material enrichment. Some people think that a large sales volume is resulting from a lot of advertisements. However, I tend to believe that this can still reflect real demand to some extent. Admittedly, according to some economists, the fan economy is the main part of our society. If the idols represent a product, they will be bought by their fans. For instance, Jack Chen accept an advertisement for a kind of shampoo, then it had a good sale volume and the main purchasing consumers are his fans. However, if this shampoo is not represented by Chen, his fans may not buy it. On the other hand, I think good sales of a product to some extent can stand out the demand in certain aspects. Firstly, it may have top quality. Nowadays, people are becoming more and more reasonable and they have a clear outline of what they really need. If this item is not of good quality, even if they buy it, they will return it to sellers and manufacturers. Moreover, these fashion goods have some cultural features. For example, I still remembered that in 2020, t-shirts with Trump images are popular in America as this president in America cause great disputes in his presidential election speech. Therefore, many citizens buy them for fun. I think this is also a kind of requirement, culture enjoyment but not the wearing need. In conclusion, I admit that some people may buy some products due to a huge number of advertisements. However, I tend to think that this purchasing also stands out some demand, such as culture but not the wearing requirement.