In the modern world, it is possible to shop, work and communicate with people via the internet and live without any face-to-face contact with others. Is it a positive or negative development?

Thanks to the rapid development of technology, people nowadays can almost get everything done through the internet. There is no need to contact others in person. As far as I am concerned, I think it is definitely a double-edged sword which has both positive and negative development. Starting with the positive side of the phenomenon, it is without doubt that the invention of the internet has reduced the boundaries in terms of distance. With a click on our phones, we can easily communicate with people on the other side of the world without even stepping out of our room. Not only can we talk with other human beings who are in distant locations, but we can also attend meetings or buy imported products easily. It is significantly convenient for everyone nowadays, especially during the pandemic when global citizens have been confined in their own houses. However, there are also downsides if internet users are overly addicted to the technology. Not only does it fail to reduce the distance between people, it conversely weakens the relationship between two humans. For example, the younger generation tends to chat via social media despite that two people are actually sitting in front of each other. According to the survey conducted by Harvard Business school in 2020, around 60% of people whose ages ranged from 15 to 65 years old admitted that they prefer to communicate through their phones so as to avoid awkwardness. In conclusion, even though the internet has benefited humans in plenty of ways in terms of reducing distance boundaries, there are also several drawbacks such as many internet users have used it to such an unhealthy extent. In my opinion, I do not think it can be categorized as either positive or negative. In fact, people should take both sides into consideration.