In the future, nobody wiil buy printed newspapers or books because they will be able to read everything they want online without paying. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some people believes that no one would purchase printed books or newspaper in the future since the online resources are free and more variable. Personally, I agree with this to some extent. However, I think that paper-based materials would still be essential in some occasions. What’s more, some online articles charge fees for people to read as well. On the one hand, the vast majority of people consider online documents to be more convenient and easier to carry around. Consequently, ebooks or tablets became more prevailing. For instance, most college students in Taiwan use iPad to take notes and to read the textbooks. Digital materials are usually free while sometimes the original books are unaffordable for students. Additionally, online information can be updated really quickly. If people want to keep up with the latest news, waiting for the newspaper headlines of the other day would be definitely not fast enough. From my perspective, printed books and newspaper will gradually dies out in this regard. On the other hand, although digital passages are more accessible for some people, there are still some reasons why printed materials are still needed. Firstly, elderly people tend to rely on actual books and newspaper more. Reason being is that they are not familiar with advanced technologies, they might not know how to read the online sources. Secondly, fake news and false information are very common owing to the accessibility of Internet. People would believe in misinformation online without knowing if it comes from horse’s mouth. As opposed to actual books, often revised and examined by people before publishing, are more reliable. In conclusion, I agree that the advent of Internet has changed the ways people live their lives. More and more people opting for reading things online. However, there are still some drawbacks about online resources. Also, many articles online still charge, such as journal articles written by experts. People would still need to pay for some specific materials.