More and more companies allow their employees to work from home or “remotely” rather than going into an office each day. Do the advantages of this policy outweigh the disadvantages?

In this frighteningly modern world, the trend of working remotely has become very popular after the pandemic compared to the traditional way of going to the office every day. In this essay, I will analyze both advantages and disadvantages of this new way of working, using examples to sustain arguments. Following this, a reasoned conclusion will be shared. On the one hand, the remote occupation has brought several benefits to the employees' private life. Hence, nowadays, people can stay at home and actively work while still having more time for household work and spending quality time with their families and children. Moreover, this phenomenon has allowed employees to dedicate more time to their hobbies and sports activities, which brought a rise in efficiency and productivity. For instance, I have been working from home since January 2020 and over time I have noticed that I have reached my yearly goals more easily than in the past. On the other hand, remote work can harm the balance between companies and their workers, because they have a reduced capacity for controlling their duties. Furthermore, another significant drawback could be connected to the psychological state of the labourers that might experience depression or social isolation. Therefore, these could bring detrimental consequences to the employer's goals. For example, recent research suggests that in 2020, 8 of 10 workers had experienced depression working from home and being impeded to go to the office. In conclusion, after considering both sides, I'm personally convinced that the pros outweigh the cons. Thus, considering how many positive effects remote work has on the people who work, companies should definitely integrate it into their policy