Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crime, while others feel that crime is being tackled effectively now. Discuss both sides and give your own opinion.

Though crime rates have fallen to historic lows in most nations, there are many who feel further action is still required. In my opinion, there should always be crime prevention efforts, however, on one level, crime is being opposed adequately. Those who believe crime requires greater prioritisation identify its effects, particularly in underserved segments of a population. Crime is still pervasive in areas rife with poverty, such as in neglected neighbourhoods in inner cities. An illustrative example of this would be the infamous favelas of Brazil. Residents in these communities must remain constantly vigilant for muggings and robberies and there is a high likelihood that in their lifetime they will come into contact with criminal elements. The causes of such crime -ridden slums are complex but the results for millions of individuals in cities around the world deserve meaningful countermeasures. Nonetheless, a criminal activity already receives sufficient funding as evidenced by its decline. Crime is best tackled through a combination of economic, educational, and criminal justice reform and as developing countries become wealthier, there is a concomitant effect on crime. Criminality is therefore being addressed and it would be unrealistic to expect a world without crime given the realities of human nature. Instead of diverting more money towards an area on the mend already, governments can continue to also fund schools, hospitals, state universities, defence, infrastructure and a host of other areas that may themselves indirectly contribute to eradicating crime. In conclusion, though crime impacts the daily lives of many citizens, it is already being successfully curbed and there are other key areas deserving of budgetary consideration. Governments must nonetheless balance these concerns and remain vigilant toward changes in this promising pattern.