In some societies, the number of crimes committed by teenagers is growing. Some people think that regardless of age, teenagers who commit major crimes should receive adult punishment. To what extent do you agree?

It has been universally acknowledged that the crime rates have been escalating alarmingly in today’s world. Some population is of the opinion that young people who commit crimes should be treated the same as adults by authorities while others reject this notion. Analysing this statement and mentioning further, adolescents in this era are subjected to a vast range of external stimuli, which can encourage them to commit such crimes. But one of the major underlying reasons behind this issue is the lack of development of cognitive skills, maturity and sense of responsibility among the youngsters of today’s world. Commencing with the causes that contribute to the development of the issue. To illustrate further, their dire need to gain a sense of belonging in society may urge them to indulge in such activities. In order to fit in, gain control or exert dominance among their peers, some youngsters may feel the need to commit such offence to gain authority over others. However, one can not ignore the consequence of such heinous transgression on other members of society. In contrast, it is pertinent to mention that youngsters of today’s generation are far too aware of the consequences of the crimes and the impact of such activities on their lives because of the development in technology. The punishment given to young crowd for committing wrongdoing must be less grave than the one given to adults. This will ensure that they are given ample time to retrospect and understand the seriousness of the situation. Additionally, it will aid them in differentiating between right and wrong and choosing the correct part for themselves in life. This, in turn will help them become respectable and responsible members of society. To recapitulate, based on the arguments mentioned above young people who commit misdeeds should not be punished the same as adults by the authorities as it will snatch away from them their only chance to redeem themselves.