Рeople today spend less and less time interacting with other people in their neighborhood and this has a negative impact on communities. what are the possible causes and solutions to this problem?

Communication with neighbors is very rare recently. Most people do not interact with their neighbors like they used to do in the past. This is having an effect on communities negatively. This essay is going to discuss the reason for this latest development and some possible answers to the problem. To begin with, communication is less effective because people of today are workaholics and ample time is spent on social media. Firstly, individuals spend more hours at work as wages are paid on hourly basis. Because of this, time spent at home is less and these times are rather spent resting so there is no time to have conversations with those close to us in our vicinities. For example, Nurses in the UK are being paid every hour as such every time is important. This makes it difficult to visit friends because those times would rather be spent making money. Also, the internet exacerbates this problem. A lot of time is spent there in the quest to make friends and build network whereas real life friends are being abandoned. People would rather be indoors all day having a conversation with their friends on the internet as compared to stepping out to have face to face interactions with neighbors. For these reasons,interactions between neighbors have reduced drastically. Some ways to mitigate these issues would be reduction in the working hours and the need to decrease time spent on the internet. Firstly, a significant solution would be a reduction in time spent at work. However, this should not affect the salary. If wages are affected by working hours, people tend to pick more shift in order to make more money. In addition, less time spent on the internet would equate more time to have meaningful conversations with people close to us. This creates a sense of togetherness and bonding necessary for the community. For instance, a recent research proved that people who spent less time on social media have a good family life and relationship. Thus, there is the need to have face to face interactions. In conclusion, more time spent at work and in the internet causes people to interact less with their neighbors. However, if hours spent at work are reduced without an effect on salaries and also less time on social media, there would be a significant increase in the number of individuals who interact face to face.