In many countries, the proportion of older people is steadily increasing. Does this trend have positive or negative effects on society?

Human lifespan has been prolonged because of advanced technology and increased wealth. One ageing-associated problem is the expanse of medical care increased, imposing a burden on taxpayers. It is known that most medical needs and expenses occur in the later years of life. Therefore, governments have to spend more taking care of the elderly population instead of solving other key fundamental problems, such as underfunded education. The slow pace of work can be another dilemma as there is an increasing number of seniors working at the workplace. The speed of information absorption and work completion will be slowed down with age. There might be a negative impact on a company’s productivity and profitability if the retirement age has been delayed. On the other hand, many old people choose to postpone their retirement and prolong their career longevity, and their rich experience and wisdom become valuable assets to the whole society. People can live a healthier and longer life because they pay more attention/effort to their diet and exercise. The older generation can pass their knowledge and skills to the younger generation as consultants. For instance, some senior management executives guide young people on how to run a business as well as how to provide better services for clients. In conclusion, extended life expectancy has put a lot of pressure on many nations' medical systems, it also influences workforce output. This will hinder economic development despite we can draw upon the expertise of seniors.