Many women are choosing to have children later in life. Why is this? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that a considerable proportion of modern women have delayed their parenthood. I would argue that this trend has more advantages than disadvantages. One of the main reasons for this is that women nowadays desire to be financially and emotionally stable before bringing up a child. In today's society, children -rearing is a painstaking task which requires a stable income and a strong mentality. As reported in the New York Times Magazine, Australian parents spend more than a quarter (27%) of their household income on each of their children. As responsible adults, women would want to be set financially first before they step up into the world of childcare. Although having children later in life will have risks,especially during pregnancy, I consider that the positive aspects of this trend outweigh the negative ones. On the one hand, women can well provide for the well-being and welfare of their children when they are financially sustainable. They are less stressed about financial security thus they are more patient and have more time for their offspring. As a result, their children grow up to be well-behaved and emotionally stable. On top of that, when women have the right to choose when they would have children, they will be more dedicated and enthusiastic when it comes to raising a child. In conclusion, there are numerous reasons why women decide to build up a family later in their lives and even though having children late sometimes put mothers in danger, this trend has a lot of benefits in terms of the mental health of modern women and the cognitive development of children.