A government has a responsibility to its citizens to ensure their safety. Therefore, some people think the government should increase spending on social benefits. To what extent do you agree?

It is the responsibility of the government to ensure the safety of its population. Due to this, some people believe that governments should increase the safety budget and decrease the spending on social benefits. To a large extent, I agree with this view, the reasons for which will be enumerated in this essay. Firstly, by increasing the safety budget governments can ensure that their citizens are living in peace and harmony. This is because spending more on defence will improve the quality of military infrastructures and it will also equip the soldiers with high-quality weapons. The benefit of this is that, foreign countries will think twice before attacking their neighbours. For example, the aggressive nature of the Chinese soldiers at the Indian border has decreased nowadays, and this is mainly due to the better infrastructure of the Indian army. So, it is evident that an increased defence budget will ensure the safety of citizens. However, I believe that safety spending should not be at the expense of social benefits. This is because, today there are many people around the globe, who largely depend on the state in areas of health care and education. These people are able to live peacefully because of the subsidies and amenities provided by the governments. Also, it helps to narrow the inequality gap between the rich and poor in society. For instance, a recent survey found that around 80% of the population is dependent on government subsidies. So removing these subsidies will cause problems such as economic instability and social unrest. In conclusion, I believe that defence spending to thwart the aggression of unfriendly neighbours is as important as providing assistance to poor citizens through various social benefit schemes.