Shopping has become a favourite pastime for many young people. Why is this the case? Should they be encouraged to spend their free time in a better way?

Every generation has its peculiarities, including different preferences in the ways of spending their time after work and studies. Nowadays a lot of young people choose shopping as their best activity, this issue fenomenon has some reasons for it and their choice ought to be respected. The first argument for shopping is a wide range of brands that nearly everyone can afford. as the quality of modern mass market products is high, the problem of finding modern clothes can be easily solved. What is more, shopping malls can be found in every town, to say nothing about big cities. These centers include a lot of shops that can satisfy any taste any teenager can buy whatever they need. Last but not least, Generation Z is obsessed with taking part in social life, both virtual and real. In their attempts to do that are connected with buying bright and unusual clothes, which takes time to find something special, so, they need to spend their free time on shopping. In terms of this trend, a person should make their own decision on the way of spending their free time. Indeed, any pressure or opinion imposed on young people is known to produce a negative effect. People of this change often change their points of view and habits and later they are highly likely to change their shopping habits. Thus, people of the younger generation should be allowed to make their own decision in terms of their free time habits. To conclude, an opportunity to buy items that young people want and willingness to attract others may be the reasons of the popularity of shopping among young people. They need to have freedom in choosing their free time activities without any extra pressure.