Some cities create housing areas by providing taller buildings. Others create housing by building houses on a wider area of land. What solution is better?

Rapid urbanization has been a global phenomenon for a long, which has caused a serious concern over housing expansion. While some cities tackle this by constructing taller buildings, expanding the area for housing is what other cities adopt. This essay will discuss both of these perspectives on city development before giving my final verdict. Building housing areas with taller buildings will bring about certain benefits. The most obvious one is that this practice can solve the problem of land scarcity. As more and more people are flocking to cities, the land area required for housing is also ever-increasing. In this case, taller buildings emerge as an optimal remedy because they can accommodate a large number of dwellers yet take up a not too huge area. This can be exemplified by Manhattan in New York city where a multitude of tall apartments has been constructed to furnish this megacity with sufficient housing. Secondly, people living in tall buildings can have a more convenient life. It is because manifold city apartments incorporate various amenities ranging from supermarkets, and playgrounds to gyms, pools or banks in the same building. With these services being within walking distance, city dwellers can enjoy different services without much difficulty. Nevertheless, building houses on a wider area of land also offers considerable merits. To begin with, this city development direction correlates with a more comfortable life for the inhabitants. When growing in this way, the cities can provide houses with wider space, which means that city dwellers can have more privacy and build their houses in accordance with their preferences. For instance, Los Angeles has been expanded in this way, bringing higher living standards to its dwellers since these people can relish better privacy and design their own housing spaces like having gardens, and building pools, making their lives much more cosy and satisfying. Furthermore, expanding housing areas serves as an antidote to overcrowded city centres. Should housing areas like tall apartments be concentrated just downtown, the city centre will be overwhelmed with people and other ensuing problems like traffic congestion, and overload of public services namely electricity, healthcare and education. Therefore, building houses in a wider area will disperse the population density, augmenting the living quality as well as divesting city centres of the overcrowding issues. In conclusion, both policies can prove their worth depending on the specific circumstances of different cities. Hence, it is imperative that city planners should be flexible in deciding on what solutions to put into practice for the sake of sustainable urban development.