Some people believe that the difference between the lowest paid job and the highest should be reduced. To what extent do you agree or disagree

It is frequently thought that a salary is one of the most important aspects of a job. The common view is that the gap between the highest earned and the lowest salary should be narrowed. I disagree with this notion to a certain extent and will discuss it in this essay. To begin with, the availability of job options would be minimal if the difference in pay is slight. This is because highly skilled jobs are expected to have higher wages than less skilled jobs. For instance, a nurse’s earnings greatly contrast with a doctor or an engineer with a contractor. This is due to the various qualifications and skills needed by each occupation. Hence it would be unfair to keep both at a similar pay scheme as a doctor's responsibility and workload, for example, would be greater than that of a nurse. Therefore, earning identical to one another would be unthinkable. In addition, closing the gap between minimum and maximum pay might demoralise employees. That is because one of the encouragements to perform better at work is to get promoted. Unfortunately, if promotion means a ceiling on maximum salary, then employees would be expected to lose motivation to give their best as incentives are minimal. Although career progression opportunities are available, they might be meaningless without an increment in wages. Even if a higher position means more workload and expectations, it is acceptable if it comes with a higher income. To conclude, after looking at all the points discussed, I disagree with reducing the pay gap. It would bring inequality in job pay and would demoralise workers further.