In some countries, many people choose to educate children at home by themselves instead of sending them to school. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Home education has become a trend in some countries nowadays. It is questionable whether the phenomenon of parents educating their own children at home by themselves has more advantages. In my opinion, I think the pros of home education do not outweigh the cons of it. Even though promoters of home education might claim that the study process could be personalized at home so that children will learn faster, there are much more skills for a kid to learn besides academic knowledge. Moreover, whether most parents are qualified to give their children proper and helpful lessons is also questionable. To begin with, it is only when a student attends school will he or she learns social skills that will help them survive in society after graduation. While studying at home, a child might have no one but only their parents to socialize with. This might cause a kid to have difficulties interacting with other human beings because they do not give opportunities to do so while growing up. In addition, since humans are social animals, learning on their own might lead to unpleasant loneliness, which is considerably harmful to one’s mental health. Next, not all parents are qualified to teach their own children. On one hand, they might not acquire enough academic knowledge to teach the pupils. On the other hand, sometimes it may be challenging for parents to discipline their own children - when parents tend to play roles of both parents and teachers, it is necessary yet hard to separate their roles. In conclusion, concerning the fact that students might lack social skills and that it is doubtful whether parents are qualified enough for homeschooling their kids, the advantages of parents educating children at home surely do not outweigh the disadvantages.