Nowadays many people prefer to buy famous brands of clothes, cars and other items. What are the reasons for this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In the past, brand name was a minor matter when people were purchasing a product. Nowadays, however, people pay more attention to the brand of the item they are willing to purchase. The reasons behind this trend might be the increased impact of advertisements, as well as the prestige and quality that these brands offer. Nevertheless, I would argue that this poses a great danger to economy of many countries, and result in increased rates of discrimination among the society. Increasing effect of advertisements on the society is one of the main drivers of brands preference. With the development of technology, big enterprises can reach their consumers anytime and anywhere. People are exposed to commercial materials: in the morning when they read newspapers, when they commute to work via billboards, and even on the walls of toilets they go to during the day. Consequently, they may subconsciously want to purchase those advertised products and services. Another reason may be the quality and certain level of prestige these behemoth enterprises offer their consumers. More often than not, big brands like Rolex or Ferrari are directly related to high prestige and quality. It is world widely known that Rolex produces best watches in the world and Ferrari's car are among fastest and the most prestigious. Thus, people tend to purchase these renowned brands to get the best quality alongside with prestige. I would argue that this phenomenon is a negative development on the grounds that it is a great danger for the society for few reasons. First, it damages local and smaller companies which cannot compete with famous global companies that tend to have larger capitals. Therefore, many local companies with potential will be driven to bankruptcy, paving the way for increased unemployment, and damaging the economy. Other critical negative impact is discrimination that emerges among people. Many who are economically capable to buy certain products may isolate themselves from those who cannot and vice versa. Wearing clothes made by popular fashion brands or driving vehicles that are famous may create a distaste among people from the fragile economic background who cannot afford it. This will trigger stratification in the society according to the economic status. In conclusion, advertisements alongside with the pursue of quality and prestige among people set the stage for increased consumption of famous brands. However, I believe this has a devastating impact on the local economy and social bonds in the community.