Learning English at school is often seen as more important than learning local languages. If these are not taught, many are at risk of dying out. In your opinion, is it important for everyone to learn English? Should we try to ensure the survival of local languages and, if so, how?

Learning native languages at school seems to be less crucial than learning English. As a consequence, many of them are on the brink/ edge / verge of extinction. From my perspective, learning English should be an important part of our education. However, we shall maintain the existence of our mother tongues by taking measures as discussed in the following essay. There are some reasons why English plays an important role in education and career. First, the global language of English is essential to achieve higher levels in the education path. For example, most universities in the world require all applicants to obtain the IELTS certificate with a score of at least 6.5. In addition, all academic materials are written in English, so all learners in higher education have to master this language in order to make use of those materials. Second, with global integration, the requirement for the English language becomes more and more common in almost all organizations. The manner of mastery in English helps us communicate with foreign business partners in the global market, which results in market expansion to other countries and leads to an increase in revenue and profit. Nevertheless, it is important to preserve local languages. Because all countries in the world have their own languages that make them unique and different from others, protecting local languages means protecting their own tradition. The governments should legalize mother tongues as lingua francas by issuing laws that make them compulsory in education programmes. As a result, by complying with the laws all country’s citizens know their own languages and prevent them from extinction. In conclusion, English is paramount since it opens more opportunities for students in education and career. Nonetheless, it cannot justify the removal of indigenous languages because of the preservation of national identities. Thus, the authorities should take action by making them a requirement in school curricula.