Some people think that all university students should study whatever they like. Others believe that they should only be allowed to study subjects that will be useful in the future, such as those related to science and technology. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Regarding the type and amount of materials which should be taught in universities, there has always been an important disagreement between people; some said that students are supposed to learn everything regardless of its usefulness for their future career, while others believe that tutorial subjects for pupils should be restricted and practical. In the following, I am going to discuss both points of vantage and elucidate my verdict on them. To begin with, students studying and learning for their own sake would lead to their creativity increase in that the more general knowledge would be, the more creativity in work would observe inasmuch as a person with a head full of thoughts can observe an issue from disparate points of view. Notwithstanding, using this educational method would rise the duration of courses and just because of this reason a veterinary medicine student chooses his/her future field of practice in the fourth semester now that practising in all animal fields is something beyond the toleration of a general practitioner and takes huge time for learning different materials; this was one of the instances which shows the importance of limited and specialized practice. On the other hand, restricted syllabi would lessen the educational course duration and pave the way for graduates to enter a related job sooner. Besides, by utilizing this approach it is possible to do specialized and intricate works; for example, if a virologist does not have to learn about all viruses species with their complex and minute details, he/she would be able to concentrate, work, and research on more substantial ones such as the one which develops AIDS disease in humans. However, limited and predetermined syllabi would diminish pupils’ perspectives regarding different scientific matters and decrease their creativity by gaining less information. In my opinion, despite the aforementioned limitation for restricted curricula for pupils, this method could lead to more and more distinctive, complicated, and advanced projects which can be done by new graduates, and this phenomenon would help the progress of human life in every aspect strikingly. To sum up, concerning the amount and type of lessons which should be acquired by university students, two perspectives were discussed and I agreed with the second one as I think that it would be more beneficial.