Some people believe that Art gives our lives meaning and purpose. Others believe that it is merely a distraction from real life. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

There are those who feel that art enriches the lives of those who engage in it. In my opinion art has important cultural lessons to teach us, however it does cost a great deal of money. So, why do I agree that art is important? In some countries there has been a long period of colonization which has led to the traditional artforms of a population being lost. Art links us to the people who came before us, and allows us to remember that we are members of a proud population. From my own personal experience, I am a very keen amateur artist who paints local wildlife and scenery. I wanted to create artworks which were closer to my own countries history, so I took a trip to a museum which displayed artwork from my own culture, and therefore gained inspiration and changed my artistic style. However, other people have a contrary viewpoint and argue art distracts us. They think the money ought to be spent in solving important problems and investing in the health system to have a better quality of life like in developed countries. For example, the priority in Chile at the moment is how to improve healthcare as the system is overburdened with a long time to wait for an appointment, thus, the budget for the country should focused mainly on basic services. In conclusion, to contrary to what some people assume, I feel art has a big importance to remain the culture of countries over the new generations to show how have been developed countries.